I’m sure that a lot of people will agree with me on the fact that music has had a huge impact on our lives albeit indirectly. For some it might serve as an entertaining way to spend an evening with friends while yo others it might provide a deeper purpose. In the last ten years or so I have woken up and fallen asleep to music. Let’s just assume that my life is like a chocolate mousse cake and music is the cherry on top of it that makes it all the more worth appreciating. I have an eclectic collection of Hindi music that ranges from classical ghazals of Pankaj Udhas and Jagjit Singh to the trendy Honey Singh and Baadshah.
It was not till recently when some friends got together at my place to listen to some classical music with the occasional drink that made me wonder the important role that music plays in our lives. That night some stories were shared that is the foundation of many relationships and many more to come hopefully 🙂 I will not mention what was discussed but when Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, may god bless his soul, came on with the song “Dillagi” it was time for everyone to shut up and appreciate music at its best. I had appreciated this man’s music for decades but it was then that I realized that I had never seen such beautiful use of allegory before.
It is remarkable how he puts so much passion into the lyrics of a song that basically explains the difference between “love” and correct me if I am wrong, “lust”, “infatuation” or “flirting”. On hearing the lines “Tumhe Dillagi Bhool Jaani Padegi, Mohabbat Ki Raahon Main Aa Kar Toh Dekho” (You will have to forget mere flirting/lust/infatuation, Come fall in the path of love and see” one of my friends exclaimed “Waah Waah!! Kya sachi baat boli hai yaar” (Woah! These lines are so true guys). At that moment I thought that it was either the alcohol talking or a life changing experience that could muster such a reaction. Thank god it was the latter and on hearing this experience even I, yes, even I felt like going “Awww”. Music as far as I know had nothing to do in his case except for the fact that it had kept the desire burning in him while he was away from his beloved. The expression on his face while reminiscing about this experience spoke a thousand words in itself and for all those out there like me who don’t believe in such things might even have had a change in mind if they had witnessed this firsthand.
Before this night could change my whole perspective on music and its purpose as a source of entertainment the next song played and my faith was restored. I’m ashamed to even mention the song that played next but trust me it’s the cheesiest Hindi song that exists in my library as of today and no I’m not deleting it. As a result of that night I have started appreciating lyrics a lot more but songs like Aye Hip Hopper don’t really help, do they 🙂 All I’m trying to say is the next time you like a song please don’t like it just because the beat is catchy but also try to pay attention to the lyrics as it will make you appreciate a song all the more. Btw I have posted the youtube link to the song…Enjoy!!!